Topics and Vice Chairs

Call for  Papers

The Call for Papers will be launched in May 2024. SubOptic is unique in being the only submarine industry gathering at which all content is selected on merit by as experienced a committee as it is possible to assemble. To have a paper chosen for oral or poster presentation is a notable achievement, recognition by your industry peers of the excellence of the work, and this will be as true as ever for SubOptic 2025.

The Call for Papers that will be issued in May will describe the topic areas in detail as envisaged by the Vice Chairs for each area.

The topic areas and the Vice Chairs of the Papers Committee will be:

1. Wet Plant Technologies for Transmission and Connectivity

• Alexei Pilipetskii Subcom

• Masaaki Hirano Sumitomo Electric

2. Dry Plant Technologies and Network Management

• Darwin Evans Ciena

• Daniel Fonseca Google


3. Next Generation Systems and Networks of the Future

• Fatih Yaman NEC Laboratories America

• Lidia Galdino Corning

4. Marine Operations and Protection: Routing, Survey, Installation and Maintenance

• Varun Deshpande Meta

• Geoffroy de Dinechin Orange Marine


5. Sustainable Networks, Environmental Sensing and non-Telecom Applications

• Jean-François Baget ASN

• Mei Du Tata Communications

6. Legal, Permitting, Regulatory and Finance

• Stuart Blythe Baker Botts LLP

• Lorraine Gray Pioneer Consulting



The Papers Committee is supported by 50-70 reviewers who have the task of reviewing all Abstracts submitted by authors following the Call for Papers and then making recommendations on which of these should be presented as Oral and Poster Presentations for SubOptic 2025.

These reviewers are chosen from the broadest possible spread of organisations with expertise in the particular topic area. Only one reviewer from a company is allowed per topic area. If you would be willing to join any one of the Papers Review Committees above, please do get in touch with the Papers Chair Eduardo Mateo,